Bumblebees & Me: Created by Design

All too soon, I’ll wake up one morning to find that the first frost has covered the landscape, signaling the beginning of the end of the gardening year. In the mean time, pollinators are taking advantage of the last bright blooms of the season. This afternoon, I discovered this bumblebee on some blue sage in my perennial beds, gathering pollen and filling the pollen baskets on her back legs to feed her offspring.

It’s been said that bumblebees are a miracle of nature, defying physics with their ability to fly. Because that myth was based upon the assumption that a bumblebee takes off like an airplane (which, of course, it does not), it has since been debunked. But to me, the little creatures are still miraculous. As is so much in nature, they are an example to me of a Master Designer who created all beings with a purpose.

bees2

I’ve had people question my belief in a Creator and even mock me a little, shaking their heads at my niaveté. They have been taught to accept as fact that a series of fortunate mutations led to mankind’s existence. But to me, the likelihood of that happening takes a lot more faith than believing in a God who spoke everything into being—except for the first woman, that is, whom God formed using part of the first man. But that’s another story for another time.

I choose to believe in a system of origins based upon hope and joy, and that includes my own beginnings. Scripture says in Psalm 139 that God sheltered me before I was born. Today, he knows the number of hairs on my head. He took great care in creating the flowers of the field and the birds of the air, and he sees when a single sparrow falls. But take him out of the picture, and this world and all in it become happenstance, with no rhyme or reason. The bumblebee and I become mere accidents.

That just seems illogical to me. Even setting aside Scripture for a moment, just looking  into the faces of my children, or walking through my garden and seeing the beauty and function there, I recognize the power of a mind whose ways are far above my own. And I take comfort in the fact that that same Creator formed me, made me for a purpose—just as he did the bumblebee.

“For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works.” –Ephesians 3:20a

 

4 thoughts on “Bumblebees & Me: Created by Design

Add yours

  1. The bumblebee represents to me what is believed to be impossible. I have a character in my story who received her name because of this. I think it’s so significant to everything Christ does in our life. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

ANCHORS OF HOPE

"We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure..." ~Hebrews 6:19

Real as the Streets

Faithfully Authentic

dynaxty

faith.thought.life

Midwest Bliss

Midwest lifestyle, adventure, travel, and exploring

Work in Progress

My thoughts as I journey through this thing called life.

Love Joy Balance

Life is a balance of holding on and letting go. -Rumi

Hunts Happy Homeschool

Sharing our daily homeschool life and encouraging others in theirs.

God Thru the Arts

Ecumenical blog posts using sacred art and music as devotional tools.

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

A Better Man

Make a Start

Through Ink & Image

...Pursuing a God Inspired Life

Humble Mumblings

My thoughts on life and faith in God

Jack Flacco

THE OFFICIAL SITE

ONE MOORE PHOTOGRAPHY

Photos by Bill - (Southern Maine & New Hampshire Seacoast)

Ethan Banks

Not writing about IT.

Fact Based Truth

Truth based on facts

Life Plan

Make Some History

Eclipsed Words

Aspire to inspire others & the universe will take note

Taking Up My Cross

Following Christ requires sacrifice and carrying my cross.

Perfect Chaos

Music and Theology from Steven Colborne

Following Him Beside Still Waters

He restores my soul: He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name's sake.

Messy Mapmaker

Searching Through the Pile of To-Do Lists to See What's Coming Next

East Coast Approach

Recipes, Musings and Observations

josephsdailywalkwithjesus

A closer walk with our beloved friend.

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

New Hampshire Garden Solutions

Exploring Nature in New Hampshire

Inside Cup

Getting To Know God From The Inside Out

The Farm Wyfe

Faith, Family, and Farming

Mom From The Shire

Trying to Figure Out How to Get Paid to Lay on the Beach...

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Lulu's Musings

Weaving together the threads of life

NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener, amateur photographer, intermediate quilter and lover of day trips around New England

A Fresh Brewed Faith

musings from a Jesus-loving, gluten-free, homeschooling, Midwest mama

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Running the Race

...Let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith... Hebrews 12:1b-2a

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Teen, Meet God

~A site for teens to learn about living for God~

cat h. bradley

writer | traveler | food❤️er | yogi | runnin' fool

The Nutritious Noodle

udon even know

Goldenrod Homestead

Permaculture and Market Gardening

